Chairman Wilma Liebman’s term on the National Labor Relations Board ended last Saturday, August 27th.  She was first named to the Board by President Bill Clinton in 1997, and was reappointed in both 2002 and 2006 by President George W. Bush.  President Obama named her Chairman on January 21, 2009, his first full day in office.  She served on the Board longer than all but two other members in the history of the Board.

New Chairman Pearce was first appointed by President Obama and was confirmed by the Senate in 2010.  He had been a partner in a labor-side  law firm in Buffalo, New York, and before that was an attorney with the Board.

With Chairman Liebman’s departure, the Board is now down to three members, the minimum necessary to conduct business.